podcasticon.gif PLS CLICK THE POD TO LISTEN or GET MY RSS FEED CLICK HERE rss2.gif

The other day I found out something that I was not supposed to know and got upset. I was pissed off really taking this personally then reacted from a place of feeling lack, not being recognized or considered in this situation. This was not the best choice for me to do but then I went to my car and realized with a little space from the situation that I totally reacted and didn’t take a moment to actually turn in to myself and breathe knowing there is an abundant universe.

Taking this to my mat into my practice I could see how I move fast in a pose almost like a reaction instead of staying with my breath working through it. As the holidays come closer check to see if you are moving from your ego body or your bigger sense of the whole this is a great practice especially when in a place of discomfort. Yoga is about responding with knowledge and from a space of feeling connected to something bigger inside and out to do this in the practice we initiate the poses from the back body allowing the front to be soft and sensitive.

Sanskrit Vocabulary: Anugraha: grace Dristhi: gaze Svadhyaya: self study

Style of Yoga I teach: Anusara Yoga


Sequence: Level 1/2

Sukasana

Downward Facing Dog

Uttanasana – standing fwd bend

1/2 Sun Salutes = Urdvah Hastasana (arms over head) to Uttanasana extending out from pelvis then coming up

Straight Leg Lunge then a Twist with torso facing the leg (variation of parvritta parsvakonasana)

Vinyasa/Sun Salutes = Downward Facing Dog – Plank – Chatturanga Dandasana

Crescent Pose – variation with knee on floor if required

Uttanasana – standing fwd bend

Samasthiti

Urdvah Hastasana

Uttanasana

Vinyasa/Sun Salute

Utthita Parsvakonasana

Vinyasa/Sun Salute

Wide Stance Uttansana with hands clasped behind back or with a strap

Down Dog

Dolphin Pose : dolphinthanks julie for being the model for the pics!

Balasana – childs pose

Down Dog

Ardha Chandrasana – half moon pose

Trikonasana – triangle pose

Vashistasana: side plank vashi.JPGvashi variation variation with foot in front

note: shoulder behind wrist hips lifted

Down Dog

Eka Pada Rajakapotasana Prep – pigeon prep note: knee wider to the side than hip

Kneeling Thigh Stretch

Uttanasana

Tadasana – mountain pose

Knee to chest standing on one leg

Purvottasana 3 X- table top pose note: hands face fwd opened a little bit index finger pointed fwd

Jathara Parivartanasana: supine twist arms in cactus positionjatha.JPG

Knees to Chest

Supta Padangustasana – lying on your back with one leg on the floor other lifted with hands behind this leg

Knees to Chest

Savasana

Namaste!

